I am the Messenger

I am the Messenger

—4.5— 

This book was actually sitting on my mom’s nightstand forever, and I never really paid any attention to it, because–I’ll admit it– its cover didn’t catch my attention. Embarrassing, I know. However, one day she pulled it out, and I noticed it was written by Markus Zusak, author of The Book Thief, which I read –and loved– previously in the year.

So I brought it back to school with me and started reading it. And finished it. In just a little over 24 hours. As with The Book Thief, I am the Messenger is one of those books that is just about perfect. The main character is Ed Kennedy, nineteen year old cabbie, going nowhere in life, spending his days with his similarly up to nothing friends. That is until he receives his first Ace card in the mail. On each Ace are adresses or clues, directing Kennedy to people he is supposed to “save”, all the while saving himself.

This book is just about anything anybody could want it a book. It’s heartbreaking, tense, frustrating, joyful, ridiculously funny, quirky and weird, and written very very well. And it really captures what its like to be a young adult and have absolutely know idea what you’re doing, what you’re gonning to do, or if it even matters. I wish I had stole Mom’s book earlier.

4.5/5

Try I am the Messenger if you enjoy Markus Zusak’s The Book Thief.

This entry was posted in Book Reviews, General Fiction, Young-Adult Fiction and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I am the Messenger

  1. Pingback: Everything is Illuminated « Sadie-Jean’s Book Blog

Leave a Reply

