MAUS

MAUS

—4.5— 

I just finished MAUS: A Survivor’s Taleby Art Spiegelman.   It was in two parts; the first: My Father Bleeds History, the second: Here My Troubles BeganMAUS is a graphic novel telling the story of the author’s father’s survival of the Holocaust.  It is also the tale of Spiegelman’s strained relationship with his father, and his attempt to come to terms with his dad, himself, and the truths of the Holocaust. 

In the books mice are Jews, pigs are Poles, and cats (of course) are Nazi’s.  It takes the older Spiegelman from rich factory owner, to a Jewish ghetto, to Auschwitz, and home.  I found it very different to read a story with pictures, but they are expressive and startling.  I loved the dynamics of the two stories intertwining, one from the war and one from the present.  MAUS won the 1992 Pulitzer, and it is one of the best books I read this year.

4.5/5

This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Nonfiction and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to MAUS

  1. Malka says:

    Hi Sadie,
    I too just read this book recently and totally agree with you, this was one of the best books I read in a while. However, this book had a personal affect on me as well – my grandmother is an Auschwitz survivor (where she lost both her parents).

  2. sadiejean says:

    Hey Malka. Thanks for reading my review. I’m glad you enjoyed MAUS as much as I did. It was something I wouldn’t have normally picked up, but I’m so glad I did. It was very powerful and insightful.

  3. Pingback: The New Classics « Sadie-Jean’s Book Blog

Leave a Reply

