My 10 Favorite Books of 2007

Well it is a new year, and with a new year comes new books!  But first, I thought I’d look back at my favorite books I read this year.  I have narrowed them down to ten, and while I could have put ALL the Harry Potter books on the list, I figured I better diversify a little.  So here are the best books I read this year (or at least remember the most fondly).

Number 10: And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie 

A classic murder mystery, where all the suspects keep getting killed.

Number 9: The Stand by Stephen King

An epic about a plague, a dark man, survivors, and the rebuilding of civilization.

Number 8: The Year of Wonders by Geraldine Brooks

The story of a woman fighting for her humanity during an outbreak of the plague in the 17th century.

Number 7: Tallgrass by Sandra Dallas

This novel was about a young girl facing her prejudices growing up next to a Japanese internment camp in WWII.

Number 6: The Last Town on Earth by Thomas Mullen

During the 1918 Influenza an American town tries to quarantine itself to prevent the flu from getting in.

Number 5: The Savage Garden by Mark Mills

Two murders 400 years apart come together in this Renaissance garden.

Number 4: I Am the Messenger by Markus Zusak

A young man’s life changes from dead end to new beginning when playing cards begin arriving in the mail.

Number 3: MAUS: A Survivor’s Tale by Art Spiegelman

A graphic novel about the Holocaust, with mice and cats and pigs. 

Number 2: A Man Without a Country by Kurt Vonnegut

Vonnegut’s almost-memoir about getting old, writing, and politics.

Number 1: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling

Finally we all know the fate of Harry Potter and the wizarding world.

This entry was posted in Randomness. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My 10 Favorite Books of 2007

  1. Chris! says:

    Sades, your blog is fantastic. As you know, I really don’t read as much as I should, but now I’ll be basing my choices from here starting with A Man Without A Country because I like Kurt Vonnegut as I have read and greatly enjoyed Welcome To The Monkey House and Breakfast of Champions. His weird stylings make good for an already weird kid like myself. Although, I still have to finish those other books I half stole from you (The Dante Club and Stiff) before I go on.

    I’ve got a blog of my own too. I review indie albums for my friends and whoever else happens to stumble upon the site. It’s called Flickin’ Spit after an inside joke and I update it –or at least I try to– every Thursday if you are interested. Here’s the url:

    http://flickinspit.blogspot.com/

    your favorite cuz
    – Chris

    p.s. – I found this on the internets the other day. Thought you would enjoy:

Leave a Reply

