50 Best Cult Books

Saw this article on The Telegraph of their 50 best cult books.  I thought the choices were good.  Unfortunately for me it seems, I’ve only read 4!  Slaughterhouse-Five, The Bell Jar, To Kill a Mockingbird, and Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy.  Jonathan Livingston Seagull I will be reading probably in the next month, since I just bought it and am apparently the only person who’s never read this.  And I have started and failed at Siddhartha, and Catcher in the Rye. 

This is how they determined which books qualify as “cult” books:

“In compiling our list, we were looking for the sort of book that people wear like a leather jacket or carry around like a totem. The book that rewires your head: that turns you on to psychedelics; makes you want to move to Greece; makes you a pacifist; gives you a way of thinking about yourself as a woman, or a voice in your head that makes it feel okay to be a teenager; conjures into being a character who becomes a permanent inhabitant of your mental flophouse.”

I like that.

This entry was posted in Book News, Randomness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 50 Best Cult Books

  1. Jonathan says:

    You should borrow A Confederacy of Dunces at some point. I’ve only read 4 also, with a number of others that I own and plan on reading at some point…

  2. sadiejean says:

    This list reminded me of you a lot. Your types of books, I think. Boy you sure responded quicklly to this post!

  3. Jamie says:

    Interesting list. I’ve read 9 myself, and see a few on there that I need to add to my reading list.

Leave a Reply

