The Pearl

The Pearl

—3.5—

John Steinbeck’s The Pearl is the story of Kino, a poor Mexican pearl harvester who finds the pearl of the century one day.  With it comes hopes and dreams of a better future with his family, a wedding for him and his wife Juana, school for his newborn son, new clothes, and a new home.  But when news spreads about Kino’s find, all around begin scheming to take advantage of Kino.  The pearl buyers try to cheat him, and the local doctor sickens Kino’s son so he can then cure him and charge Kino.  The pearl is actually a bearer of bad fortune, instead of good, and Kino must return it from where it came.

I liked this story; it’s actually an old folk-tale.  However, it is a bit depressing.  While I’m sure it wasn’t the intentional message, I felt like the story was saying “when good things happen to you everyone will try and take it away and everything you love out of life will disappear”.  Nice huh? 

3.5/5

This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Classic Literature and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Pearl

  1. Jonathan says:

    Maybe not a happy message, but there’s some truth behind it that doesn’t fit behind a rosyfacade, I guess. The plot reminds me a little of Blood Diamond, although not exactly the same. Sounds good though. Maybe I’ll have to check it out at some point. I did like Grapes of Wrath, but I’m thinking I’ll have to read East of Eden first.

  2. sadiejean says:

    LOVED East of Eden. And about this one, I guess I just wanted something good to come to this family that deserved it, but I suppose that’s not real life huh.

  3. Jonathan says:

    I can understand that, and I’d probably agree with you when reading the story. But it keeps things interesting when stories don’t always work out the way you want them to, especially when they’re steeped in reality.

  4. thekoolaidmom says:

    The Pearl is a great book for middle schoolers, I think. For me, it was the first book I read that made me seriously think and quiestion some of the things I’d been taught. When I started teaching my oldest daughter, who was 13 at the time, to analytically read, this was the first book I picked up.

Leave a Reply

