Minutes Spent Reading, and a Poll!

 

I saw this article in the Chicago Tribune today, about high schools trying to balance teaching “classics” while still getting their students to read.  It also talked about a trend toward more contemporary books, such as A Thousand Splendid Suns, The Things They Carried, and The Joy Luck Club, which may be easier for students to relate to.  Along with the article was a chart showing the average minutes spent reading per day, by age group.  I thought it was shocking!  In my age group (15-24) the average time spent reading is 7 minutes per day!  And only 11 on weekends.  Now, I know being in graduate school means I am going to read WAY more than the average young adult, but it takes longer than 9 minutes to read the newspaper everyday!  So I wanted to try the new PollDaddy feature of WordPress to see how much you all read!

 

This entry was posted in Book News, Randomness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Minutes Spent Reading, and a Poll!

  1. fyreflybooks says:

    Most days I’m about an hour to an hour and a half.

  2. sadiejean says:

    That’s about what I would read daily for enjoyment if I had time for enjoyment. Unfortunately, I am reading much more than that and it is all about physiology and hypertension and meds. I miss fiction so much…

  3. Lyndsie says:

    Now, since I had to take so many research courses as an undergrad, you should know you’re poll will not be representative of the entire population…You hang out with many dorky kids who enjoy being nerdy and spend a Friday or Saturday night at home, instead of the bar.

    😀

  4. Lyndsie says:

    Now, since I had to take so many research courses as an undergrad, you should know your poll will not be representative of the entire population…You hang out with many dorky kids who enjoy being nerdy and spend a Friday or Saturday night at home, instead of the bar.

    😀

  5. sadiejean says:

    I understand completely Lyndise. Plus, I think anyone reading a book blog may read more than the average person. OH, I have to return your Jodi Picoult book. Sorry it’s taken so long!

  6. stacybuckeye says:

    I’m shocked by the number from the Chicago Tribune. Thanks for sharing.

  7. Nicole says:

    The days the kids have school, I read more. But, I always get at least 30-45 minutes in the evening. The day isn’t over until I read!

Leave a Reply

