The Lost Symbol

—3.5—

Do you ever feel like you just aren’t able to give a book its fair chance?  I was so busy during the time my book club was reading Dan Brown’s latest thriller The Lost Symbol, I don’t think I ever became emersed in the mystery.  I had been excited to read this follow-up to Angels and Demons and The DaVinci Code, but I think I failed to completely give myself over to the story.  If I had would I have liked it as much as the first two novels?  Probably not; I still don’t think this foray is as impressive of a work as his two before.  But I think it was suspenseful and the puzzles were deliciously cryptic, and isn’t that why we all read Dan Brown’s books in the first place?  (Why do I keep asking questions in this post?)

This time Robert Langdon is in D.C. deciphering the mysteries of the Masons in order to save his friend and mentor from a psychopath who has infiltrated the Masons’ ranks.  Washington D.C. is a beautiful backdrop for the twists and turns of this story, and being semi-familiar with the city made its reading all the more enthralling.  At times the story feels a little too much like the movie National Treasure, but that was a great movie so I can’t really complain!

I think I liked this novel the least of the Robert Langdon stories, but more than Dan Brown’s Digital Fortress and Deception Point. How much of that is due to the circumstances of my life while reading it, I’m not sure.   The wonderful thing about these books,  in contrast with the films, is how the clues open themselves up to the reader, instead of just being explained quickly by the actors on screen.  Definately worth reading, and I don’t think DaVinci fans will be disappointed, although most have probably already read the book!

3.5/5

This entry was posted in Anderson Book Club, Best Sellers, Book Reviews, General Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Lost Symbol

  1. Jack says:

    I didn’t really like this one much either, although, I disagree about Digital Fortress. I liked that one best. However, I did read that a LONG time ago before my new literary guru 😉 had turned me on to so many great writers.

  2. sadiejean says:

    Jonathan is reading it now, so I’m going to be curious to see what he thinks. He seems to be really liking it. I don’t think I “got” Digital Fortress enough to like it, too tech-y for me. But thanks for the guru comment!

  3. Pingback: Dan Brown « Sadie-Jean’s Book Blog

  4. Pingback: Encephalosponge » The Lost Symbol

Leave a Reply

