My Top Ten Books of 2009

Here is my list of the best books I read this past year:

1. The Hunger Games and Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins, OBVIOUSLY.  In order to keep this a top ten list, I had to combine a few of my favorite books into one selection.  It might be cheating, but both these books are the absolute best and I couldn’t pick one over the other.

2.  The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo and The Girl who Played with Fire by Steig Larsson.  These ridiculously good suspense/crime novels make me proud to be Swedish.  Greatly anticipating the last in the trilogy, The Girl who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest.

3. The House on Tradd Street and The Girl on Legare Street by Karen White.  The House on Tradd Street was better, but both are cute and quaint ghost stories that are lovely together.

4. Goldengrove by Francine Prose.  Finally, a solo choice on my top ten.  A simple little book about the not so simple process of grief and growing up.

5.  The Gargoyle by Andrew Davidson.  This book stayed with me for it’s beautiful descriptions of madness and burning.

6.  The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows will certainly make the list of favorite books for many readers.  And I wanted so desperately not to like it.

7.   People of the Book by Geraldine Brooks.  This was an Anderson Book Club selection!

8.  The Little Giant of Aberdeen County by Tiffany Baker.  Another Anderson Book Club book that was about acromegaly and witchcraft.  Good combo!

9.  A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini.  Follow-up to The Kite Runner, this time taking the perspective of generations of women.

10.  The Strain by Guillermo Del Torro.  Super virus + vampires.  ‘Nough said.

What do you all think?  What was your favorite book this year?

This entry was posted in Current Read Comments and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Top Ten Books of 2009

  1. Elenía says:

    The woman in white, by Wilkie Collins.BTW are you Swedish?

    • sadiejean says:

      I own the Woman in White and I’ve never read it but you keep saying how good it is so I guess I must pull it out and give it a go. Haha, and yes, my dad’s side is Swedish.

  2. Jonathan says:

    Hmm I haven’t read very many books this year. I guess mine is Slaughterhouse Five: http://encephalosponge.com/2009/03/28/slaughterhouse-five-review/ I’ll have to work on doing more reading next year 😉

Leave a Reply

