Before I Go to Sleep

—4—

Over the summer I read the psychological thriller, Before I Go to Sleep by S.J. Watson.  This book had been getting a lot of buzz, and I was in the mood for a book that would capture me.  And this one delivered.

Before I Go to Sleep is the story of Christine, a woman with a form of amnesia in which all her memories since her twenties are wiped every night when she sleeps.  Each morning she awakes in a foreign house and must face the aged face in the mirror.  Each morning her husband, Ben, must explain the life that they lead together.  And each night Christine sets her head down to sleep and forgets it all.  But then she starts a journal.  And inside she writes “Don’t Trust Ben”.

The greatest strength of the story is the masterful pacing.  Yes, it is slightly repetitive- after all, Christine must rediscover herself everyday.  But this only lends itself the the fantastically sinister tone of the novel.  Watson does a superb job of timing each new revelation, each new event, so that the reader is anticipating the turn of every page.  Christine is engaging, as is her therapist, Dr. Nash.

But the story isn’t perfect.  If you read it, you will realize that the premise itself is a bit implausible.  I agree.  Shake off your disbelief and enjoy the ride.  I will also say that I feel like amnesia is becoming a recurrent plot device.  Finally, I’d avoid working too hard to “solve” the story, and just emerse yourself completely in Christine’s journey, because Watson succeeds more in this than in coming up with a perfect resolution.

4/5

This entry was posted in Best Sellers, Book Reviews, General Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Before I Go to Sleep

  1. Emily C says:

    This sounds fun. I will have to get it from the library. I see that you are reading “The Little Stranger” – it is a really fun book. I hope you like it.

  2. Elena says:

    Sounds like a funny, light book, something you’ll read between classics to simply enjoy some carelessly reading. However, I do not like the amnesia plot that much. As you said, it can be a little bit too repetitive and I have no patience with that.

    I’m soooo happy to have your reviews back. Keep’em coming, lady!

  3. If you could message me with a few pointers on how you made your blog site look this cool , Id be appreciative!

  4. this month says:

    I Will have to visit again when my course load lets up – nevertheless I am getting your Feed so i can go through your web blog offline. Thanks.

  5. The look for the weblog is a little bit off in Epiphany. Even So I like your weblog. I may have to install a normal web browser just to enjoy it.

  6. Dude. This blog site is awesome. How did you make it look like this !

  7. How come you dont have your website viewable in mobile format? cant see anything in my netbook.

  8. After I start your Rss feed it seems to be a ton of garbage, is the issue on my part?

  9. Just to let you know your blog appears a little bit strange in Safari on my computer with Linux .

  10. Im getting a teeny problem. I cant get my reader to pickup your rss feed, Im using aol reader by the way.

  11. This site has some very useful stuff on it! Cheers for informing me!

  12. I tried viewing your site in my new iphone 4 and the structure does not seem to be right. Might wanna check it out on WAP as well as it seems most cellphone layouts are not working with your web site.

Comments are closed.